Saturday, April 3, 2010

Fast vegan food is nearly impossible

Who knew that trying to order something vegan at a national fast food restaurant chain would be so hard. Just for those who do not know yet, here are a few things I found out.


What can I get vegan at taco bell?


7 layer burrito (minus the cheese & sour cream)
--remaining layers are rice, beans, lettuce, tomatoes, & guacamole.

Bean burrito (minus the cheese)

--remaining ingredients are red sauce, onions, & beans.


I do not think that McDonalds or Burger King has anything vegan. Burger King does have the veggie burger which may or may not be vegan. The only thing that is vegan at BK is the onion rings I beleive.


What can I eat vegan at Jack in the Box?


Side salad (no cheese)

Hash Brown Sticks

Natural Cut Fries
Potato Wedges

Seasoned Curly Fries
Horrible choices huh?

What can I eat vegan at Dominos?

The crunchy thin crust is vegan, as well as the pizza sause. So you technically could order a thin crust pizza, no cheese, with your choice of veggies :)

It is pretty much impossible to find vegan fast food places in Hawaii. I opt for chinese, thai, vietnamese, or japanese a lot of the time.


3 comments:

  1. Hello Elilai.

    As you know I am not a vegan but a vegetarian, but I do eat a lot of meals that are vegan. Anyway, I enjoyed reading about your experience of (trying to) eat fast food. Because of the lack of choices I gave up eating at fast food places a very, very long time ago. The only time I would eat there would be out of real hunger pangs and then it would be the fries or onion rings as you pointed out. The choices are non-existent for vegans. A long way to go for fast food outlets.

    Finally, Thank you so much for becoming a follower. I am really humbled. Thank you.

    ReplyDelete
  2. You are very welcome! Thank you also for checking out my blog :)

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts with Thumbnails